top of page

Replacing Shackles with Bracelets

Updated: Nov 2, 2022

Passionate outcries ring in the streets of Brooklyn, my voice one of them. Imagining the shackles loosened, only to be replaced and disguised as bracelets.


I speak from a perspective of privilege as I witness atrocities to humanity. Daily discipline monitors language, colloquialisms of my youth are flagged and removed. Years of monitoring self-depreciating mantras, I move through these exercises with familiarity. Guilt has a weak grip as threatens to tear into the veil of reality. A lifetime of battles with white guilt mends with fostered compassion.


"Ease and grace," replaces all mantras. I can only be myself.


Depression after the release of my novel, Journey of a Doula, a voice for the silent, as the black and brown community shunned my contribution. Unapologetic ignorance obscured my genuine outcry for justice on behalf of the families I served. I can empathize with another but speaking on their behalf is not honorable regardless of sincerity. It is part of my story.



The awareness of medical injustice, reproductive experimentation and active genocide crystallizes. Many facets of discrimination threaded through the theme of American society evolved into plagiarism of freedom. The collective focus through this transformation can be futile if the movement continues to operate within the system. The way out is in our hands.


The path obscures. Do not be fooled by promises that shift focus to disguise entrapment. All economic, political, social systems are based on slavery. Find the freedom within. Display to the world your noncompliance.



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page